Hot Spot – California Lottery

By Kate Loyola
Last Updated: December 2, 2018

How to Play the California Hot Spot Lottery

The California Hot Spot has a refreshing system. Here, you pick the set of numbers, or Spot, that you’d like to play per draw. A set can be 1-10 numbers. Then, you fill out each set with numbers from 1-80. You win prizes by matching the winning numbers — and the bigger your Spot or set (meaning, the more numbers you have to match), the bigger your prize.

You can also opt to pay extra to play a Bulls-eye, which is an extra number from 1 to 80. This works like the multipliers in Powerball or Mega Millions: if you match Hot Spot numbers and your chosen Bulls-eye, you win more than if you’d just played Hot Spot numbers.

California Hot Spot Drawing Schedule

Draws are held every 4 minutes from 6 AM to 2 AM every day.

California Hot Spot Payout

Hot Spot payouts can be Typical Prize Pools or Typical Prize Amounts. Here’s the difference:

  • Typical Prize Pools (TPPs): These are split equally among the winners for each tier. The top prizes for Spots 8-10 are TPPs.
  • Typical Prize Amounts (TPAs): These are awarded to each winner, as allowed by the available prize funds.

California Hot Spot Numbers and Results

You can check the latest Hot Spot results and previous winning numbers at:

California Lottery – Hot Spot